ISLAMABAD- The joint statement by the government and Taliban committees emphasized that actions against peace would be detrimental to peace talks.

The committees formed by the government and Taliban issued a joint statement today.

Advisor on National Affairs Irfan Siddique, veteran journalist Rahimullah Yusufzai, former ambassador and expert on Afghanistan affairs Rustam Shah Mohmand and former ISI official Major (Retd) Amir Shah represented government side, while Taliban-nominated committee comprised of Maulana Samiul Haq, Maulana Yousaf Shah and Professor Ibrahim.

The government committee informed the Taliban committee that any further attacks by the Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) would not be tolerated. .

The Taliban-nominated committee presented figures pertaining to TTP members being killed in Swabi, Peshawar and Karachi. The committee also assured their government counterparts that the Taliban would be urged to stop attacks.