PTI ticket-holder in the 2013 general elections Akram Bhatti announced support for PTI-backed independent candidate Ijaz Shah in by-election to NA-137 scheduled to be held on March 15.

Addressing a press briefing here on Friday, Akram Bhatti who had sought the PTI ticket for contesting the upcoming by-election, announced all-out support for former IB DG Brig (r) Ijaz Shah. It is to be noted that there were rumours that Akram Bhatti will oppose the PTI-backed candidate but all these speculations died down with his announcement of support for the independent candidate.

He declared that he, in principle, had decided to support Ijaz Shah.

Meanwhile, former nazim Rai Zaman Bhatti, Mian Afzal, Reham Din and Numbardar Rai Nasir Kharal along with other notables of the constituency announced their full support for Ijaz Shah.

On the occasion, Ijaz Shah said that he was going door to door seeking votes and welcomed the support announced him by the notables. He claimed that his party was the only party that represented the public and would be able to resolve problems of the masses in a true manner.

He alleged that the PML-N candidate was making false announcements regarding developments projects, challenging that he would withdraw his candidature if his opponent fulfil her promises before the election. Jahangir Bhatti, Advocate Muhammad Hussain Noul, ISF President Rai Faisal Kharal and Ghfran Mehmood were also present on the occasion.