LAHORE - Around two dozen candidates of the Senate from Punjab on general seats and seats reserved for women, ulema and technocrats have submitted their nominations papers in election commission office.

According to a press statement of the election commission issued on Friday, Chaudhary Tanveer Khan, Mushahidullah Khan, Abdul Qayyum, Pervaiz Rasheed, Ghous Muhammad Khan Niazi, Syed Muhammad Nehal Hashmi, Saud Majeed, Khawaja Mehmood Ahmed and Saleem Zia of PML-N submitted their nomination papers on general seats.

Nadeem Afzal Chan and Shaukat Mehmood of PPPP also submitted their papers on general seats, besides four independent candidates.

On women reserve seats, Ayesha Raza Farooq, Najma Hameed and Kiran Imran of PML-N submitted nomination papers, while Sarwat Malik of PPPP also filed her papers.

On reserve seats for ulema and technocrats, Raja Muhammad Zafarul Haq and Sajid Mir filed the nomination papers with PML-N backing, while Malik Nosher Khan Anjum Langrial of PPPP submitted his papers, besides one independent contender.