ISLAMABAD - Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) here on Friday announced its 10 candidates including five covering candidates for the upcoming Senate elections from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) while refusing tickets to the close relatives of PTI legislators, ministers and some of the provincial officer bearers.

However, two top businessmen from the province are on the top of the list of PTI’s Senate candidates, one on a general seat and the other on a technocrats seat, while the senior leadership and some old faces of the party including provincial president and secretary general have been refused tickets. Some new faces have also been nominated who have close association with the party for the last many years. At least two senior lawyers have also been selected for the Senate tickets. The 10 names are a set of the main candidates and their covering candidates.

PTI has awarded two tickets, on general seats, to Mohsin Aziz and Syed Shibli Faraz, while Fazal Mohammad Khan and Barrister Salman Afridi would be their covering candidates. Mohsin Aziz represents PTI in the business community and has remained President of Sarhad Chamber of Commerce and Industry as well as Chairman All Pakistan Textile Mills Association (APTMA); Syed Shibli Faraz is the son of renowned poet Ahmed Faraz and an old worker of the party; Fazal Mohammad Khan is PTI president Charsadah while Barrister Salman Afridi is a legal mind of the party who has helped PTI in preparing KP Ehtesab Commission Bill and other similar important legislations.

Similarly, Noman Wazir has been given ticket on technocrats seat while Latif Yusufzai would be its covering candidate on this seat. Noman Wazir is also a businessman and remained Chairman of Industrial Estate Association KP while Latif Yusufzai is former advocate general KP and has contributed to the legal affairs of the party. On women seat, PTI has awarded ticket to Samina Abid while Rabia Basri would be its covering candidate on this seat. Samina Abid is the PTI office bearer of its women wing from KP. PTI has chosen Brig (r) John Kenneth Williams as its candidate on a minority seat while and Ravi Kumar would be its covering candidate.

The PTI Parliamentary Board, under the chairmanship of Imran Khan had met on Thursday last to shortlist candidates for the Senate elections from KP as party is only contesting Upper House election from this province. Earlier in the week, the Parliamentary Board headed by Shah Mahmood Qureshi had gone through the 131 applications and interviewed all the applicants.

Acting President PTI KP Azam Khan Swati and Acting Secretary General PTI KP Khalid Masood had applied for Senate tickets but were refused. Similarly, Rustam Shah Mohmand, who is an old PTI activist from KP, has also been denied ticket. Fauzia Kasuri has also been refused party ticket. According to PTI sources, there was a split in the party at provincial level over the award of tickets to some candidates and Chairman Imran Khan by refusing tickets to some candidates has kept intact his party’s some old leaders who stood by him since the party was established.