ISLAMABAD - The MQM-P has almost convinced some of their disgruntled lawmakers to take back their resignations and start taking part in the parliamentary proceedings.

These disgruntled MQM-P MNAs may soon take back their resignations from the National Assembly Secretariat to rejoin parliamentary politics, sources in the MQM-P shared with The Nation.

MQM-P Chief Dr Farooq Sattar held back-to-back meetings with dissident members, including MNA Ali Raza Abidi and MPAs from Sindh, to address their grievances.  “The dissidents may take back their resignations soon and participate in the current National Assembly session,” said MQM-P sources.

MQM-P Chief Dr Farooq Sattar had faced difficulty when he arranged a meeting with PSP Chief Mustafa Kamal a couple of months ago. The disgruntled MPs had demanded his party chief to ensure them publically that he would not enter in an ‘electoral alliance’ with the Pakistan Sarzameen Party (PSP).

Eight lawmakers, including an MNA Ali Raza Abidi, have left the party and joined the PSP.  Sources said that MQM-P chief had also requested the Speaker National Assembly not to accept resignations of his party members as he was making efforts to convince them.

Irtaza Khalil, Muhammad Dilawar, Nadeem Rizvi, Sheikh Abdullah, Bilqees Mukhtar, Mahmood Abdur Razzaque, Sagheer Ahmed and Iftikhar Ahmed, are the disgruntled members who were elected to Sindh Assembly on MQM-P tickets.