LAHORE: Younus Khan-led United Bank Limited (UBL) clinched the PCB Departments One-Day Cup after overwhelming Wapda by 6 wickets in the final played at UBL Ground No 1, Karachi on Sunday.

It were collective efforts and team work behind UBL’s title victory. They remained unbeaten throughout the tournament and their hard work paid off in the end, as they emerged as title triumphant of premier domestic one-day activity. Other finalists Wpada lost two of their matches before reaching the final as first they were routed by SNGPL by 7 wickets and then they were thrashed by strong UBL by 8 wickets.

UBL replied strongly while chasing an easy target of 219 runs on the batting (paradise) pitch, and reached home safely losing just four wickets with 42 balls still remaining. Shan Masood and Umar Siddiq provided a good start to UBL and added 40 runs for the first wicket partnership. Zahid Mansoor was the bowler who took the first wicket of Umar when he was playing 16 runs while in the very next over, UBL lost another wicket and this time it was Umar Akmal who were sent packing by Khalid Usman at his personal score of just 1 run.

After that international all-rounder Sohaib Maqsood joined outstanding opener Shan Masood and both then contributed significant 94 runs for the third wicket stand. Shan, who was then removed by Khalid Usman, hammered swashbuckling 59 runs with the help of 5 fours. Saad Ali then joined Sohaib and the pair just added 20 more runs in the team’s total when Sohaib was also became a victim of Khalid Usman. He slammed 71-ball 63 runs, hitting 6 fours and 1 six. After that captain Younus Khan took the responsibility and he, along with Saad Ali, played sensible knocks and landed their team home safely. Saad smashed unbeaten 42 off 43 balls, hitting 5 fours and 1 six while skipper Younus thwarted unbeaten 33 off 36 studded with 5 fours. Khalid Usman bowled brilliantly and bagged 3-42 while Zahid Mansoor took 1-33 but their efforts proved futile for their team, which lost the final.

Earlier put into bat first, Wapda batsmen, especially openers and middle order, failed to deliver as at one stage, they were struggling at 113-7 in 32nd over but Wahab Riaz and Khalid Usman played impressive knocks and added significant 90 runs for the eighth–wicket partnership which helped Wapda pile up a decent total of 281-10 in 48.3 overs.

Wahab played 45 balls and smashed 6 fours and 2 sixes to score a fabulous fifty (53) while his partner Khalid Usman, who also bowled brilliantly, gathered 46 runs off 60 balls with the help of 4 fours. Earlier, only Bismillah Khan could resist UBL bowlers and succeeded in scoring 43-ball 43 runs studded with 5 fours and 2 sixes. Wapda’s top performers and in-form players Kamran Akmal and Salman Butt couldn’t contribute big runs in their team’s total that’s their team failed to register the title win.

Hammad Azam was pick of UBL bowlers as he grabbed 3-35 while M Asghar and Mir Hamza also bowled well and bagged two wickets each. Asif Yaqoob and Khalid Mehmood Senior officiated the final as field umpires while Ahmed Shahab was TV umpire, Iftikhar Ahmed referee and Syed Imran Ali official scorer.

Pakistan cricket team chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq, PCB Domestic Cricket Operations General Manager Shafiq Papa and PCB Governing Board member Mansoor Masood Khan graced the concluding ceremony and gave away trophies and prizes to the winners and top performers of the tournament.

UBL captain Younus Khan received winning trophy and Rs 1 million cheque while Wapda captain Salman Butt got runners-up trophy and Rs 500,000. Hammad Azam of UBL was named man of the final, Shan Masood of UBL the best batsman (632 runs), Sadaf Hussain of KRL the best bowler (18 wickets) and Kamran Akmal of Wapda outstanding player (532 runs, 12 dismissals) and all received Rs 100,000 each from the chief guests.


WAPDA: 218-10 in 48.3 overs (Wahab Riaz 53, 45 balls, 6x4s, 2x6s, Khalid Usman 46, 60 balls, 4x4s, Bismillah Khan 43, 43 balls, 5x4s, 2x6s, Zahid Mansoor 20, 35 balls, 1x4, 1x6, Hammad Azam 3-35, Muhammad Asghar 2-44, Mir Hamza 2-49)

UBL: 220-4 in 43 overs (Sohaib Maqsood 63, 71 balls, 6x4s, 1x6, Shan Masood 59, 89 balls, 5x4s, Saad Ali 42*, 43 balls, 5x4s, 1x6, Younis Khan 33*, 36 balls, 5x4s, Khalid Usman 3-42, Zahid Mansoor 1-33)