LAHORE - An election tribunal on Friday selected 10 polling stations for inspection and recounting of votes from NA 125, the constituency from where PML-N’s Khwaja Saad Rafique was elected as MNA.

As the proceedings started, the tribunal was informed that Khwaja Saad Rafique and runner-up candidate Hamid Khan of the PTI could not select polling stations of their own choices. On it, the tribunal itself selected 10 different polling stations from the constituency. The selected polling stations included 30, 32, 112, 120, 151, 46, 98, 193, 194 and 195.

The tribunal judge personally will inspect record of the selected polling stations on March 17.

Hamid Khan had challenged the victory of Khwaja, alleging that the PML-N candidate rigged the election, and a large number of bogus votes were cast in his favour.

 He requested the tribunal to declare the election null and void and announce re-election in the constituency.