ISLAMABAD – The Pemra in its 79th meeting held on Tuesday at Islamabad approved cancellation of four non-operative FM radio licences of M/s Busy Bee Pvt Ltd. The company was awarded FM radio licences in May 2008 for Mianwali, Bhakkar, Khushab and Narowal cities, says a statement.

As per Pemra law and Terms and Conditions of the FM radio licences, it was mandatory for the company to start operations within one year from the date of issuance of the licence but the company failed to start its broadcast services in violation of Regulation 8(4) of the Radio Broadcast Station Operations Regulations 2012 read with Condition 3.1 of terms and conditions of the licence.  The Authority, therefore, on recommendations of the Council of Complaints and in exercise of powers vested under Section 30(1) (b) of Pemra Amendment Act-2007, approved cancellation of licences.

Moreover, a fine of Rs 0.5 million was imposed on M/s Airwaves Media (Pvt.) Ltd. for unauthorised change in management. Under Section 20(i) of Pemra Act-2007 read rule with 16 (2) of Pemra Rules-2009 it is mandatory for a licencee to seek prior approval from the Authority before any sell, transfer or assign any of the rights conferred by the licence.  The Authority also discussed important electronic media issues e.g. unconfirmed news, projection of terrorists, discussion on matters relating to judiciary and armed forces and the complaints against obscenity on TV channels. The Authority resolved to implement its laws and Content Code in letter and spirit. The Authority decided that ensuring freedom of expression is foremost obligation of regulator but nowhere unbridled freedom is allowed to harm the state institutions and its functionaries in the garb of freedom of expression and speech. The Authority urged its licencees to realise their responsibility and exercise self-regulation in larger national interest. The meeting was attended by Acting Chairman Pemra Dr Abdul Jabbar, Secretary Ministry of Information Ch Rashid Ahmad, Secretary Ministry of Interior Khawaja Siddique Akbar, Chairman PTA Farooq Ahmad Awan and other members included Mian Shams (Punjab), Israr Ahmad Abbassi (AJK), Zeba Hussain (Sindh) and Fareeha Iftikhar (KPK).