KARACHI - The selectors have picked seven new faces in the 20-member Pakistan squad for next month’s 35th edition of Hockey Champions Trophy being staged in Indian city of Bhubaneshawar from December 6 to 14.

The team was named by chief selector Islahuddin Siddiqui at Hockey Club of Pakistan Stadium Thursday after two-day trials. Full-back M Imran was retained as the captain. Chief coach and co-opted member of the selection committee Shahnaz Shaikh with selectors Ayaz Mahmood, Arshad Chaudhry, Khalid Bashir and Mussidiq Hussain were also present on the occasion.

Islah said another round of trials would be held on November 26-27 after which squad would be curtailed to an 18-member. He said two players Rashid Mehmood and Rizwan Senior, who could not appear in the trials, will take part in the final trials. “After watching them in action and on the basis of their form and fitness their selection will be decided,” Islahuddin said.

Fresh faces picked in the team included Amjad Ali, Arsalan Khan, Ali Azfar, Ali Shan, Tasawwar Abbas, Yaqoob Azfar and Zuhaib Ashraf. New faces got into the team after three seniors players forward Shakeel Abbasi and Abdul Haseem Khan and half back Fareed Ahmed have been rested for the Champions Trophy.


Imran Butt, Amjad Ali (goalkeeper), M Imran (capt), M Irfan, Kashif Shah (full-back), Ammad Butt, M Tousiq, Rashid Mahmood, M Rizwan Junior, Zuhaib Ashraf, Tasawwar Abbas (half-back), Waqas Sharif, Umar Bhutta, M Dilber, M Rizwan Senior, Ali Shan, Arsalan Khan, Yaqsoob Azfar and Rizwan Ali (forwards).

PHF secretary Rana Mujahid also announced the cancellation of the team’s South Korean tour due to a lack of funds and visa issues.

 “We have asked Korea if the series can be arranged after the Champions Trophy,” said Mujahid.

Meanwhile, Rizwan Jr was fined Rs100,000 for failing to bring his team jersey in the Asian Games final against India, while Tasawwar has been directed to pay Rs15,000 for his late arrival to the training camp.