LAHORE - Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Shaharyar M Khan has ruled out any leniency for former Test captain Salman Butt and M Asif who are serving bans for spot fixing since 2010.

Talking to the reporters here Thursday, Shaharyar said that the PCB had started preparations for filing an appeal for banned pacer Aamir with the ICC, but it had no such plans for Butt and Asif. “The PCB is completing all legal formalities and will file an appeal with the ICC soon to get some relaxation for Aamir under the revised anti-corruption code of the ICC,” said Shaharyar.

“But we have no plans to do the same for Butt and Asif at the moment. First they have to convince us they indeed repent for what they did and are ready to reform themselves,” he added.

The three cricketers have been given minimum five-year bans by the anti-corruption tribunal of the ICC but while the ban for Butt and Aamir ends in August, 2015, the former also has been given a two-year suspended sentence.

“Aamir’s case is different from those of Butt and Asif. These two have still not really accepted their guilt. We want them to do more to first convince us they are indeed reformed,” said Shaharyar. Under the revised code, a banned player can apply to the ICC ACU to allow him to resume playing domestic cricket before his ban ends.

The chairman also announced a team bonus worth nearly $150,000 to reward the side for their first series win over Australia in 20 years. He said that cash awards would be given to the players to recognise the win and individual performances.

The PCB chief said that two experienced campaigners and mainstays of national team, skipper Misbahul Haq and Younus Khan, have been rewarded Rs 1.5  million apiece (Rs 500,000 bonus and Rs 1 million performance incentive each). While Rs 500,000 series win bonus has been given across the board to each of the members of the squad and Rs350,000 to everyone in the team management and support staff.

Other than Misbah and Younus, five other standout performers had also been rewarded with performance incentives. Azhar Ali and Zulfiqar Babar were awarded Rs 500,000 apiece to make it a total of Rs 1 million for each of them, while Ahmed Shehzad and Zulfiqar Babar each Rs 250,000 to take the total to Rs 750,000 each and Yasir Shah Rs 100,000 for Rs 600,000 in all, Shaharyar concluded.