SAHIWAL - PML-N candidate Pir Khizar Hayat Shah Khagga won the PP-220 by-election on Thursday, defeating his rival PML-Q and PPP-backed candidate Muzaffar Shah Khagga. According to unofficial results, Khizar Hayat Khagga gained 40,185 votes in 160 polling stations set up in the entire constituency. Following his victory, jubilant PML-N workers took to streets and started celebrations. The PML-N candidate defeated PML-Q and PPPs joint candidate with a margin of over 21,000 votes. However, the PML-Q has rejected the election result by accusing the PML-N of manipulating the polling process through extensive use of government machinery. Though skirmishes and clashes between the PML-N and PML-Q workers were reported from various polling stations, no unpleasant incident had been reported from the constituency. The seat fell vacant following the disqualification of former PML-Q MPA Pir Walayat Shah Khagga in a fake degree case. At least 12 candidates contested the by-poll in constituency PP-220 where 160 polling stations with 392 polling booths were set up. The number of registered voters in the constituency is 136,925. Elaborated security arrangements were adopted to maintain law and order situation. The government has also announced a local holiday to facilitate voters. PML-N wins PP-220 by-polls