ISLAMABAD - Mohsin Ali of The Nation elected president of Rawalpindi Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) unopposed as for the third term in running while Shakir Abbasi of NaiBaat/NEO TV was elected as secretary.

Nasir Abbas Naqvi of Daily Ausaf was elected as Treasurer for a term of two years while Abdul Mohi Shah of The News was retained as chairman.

The annual general council meeting of RISJA was held here at Media Center, Pakistan Sports Complex under the chair of its secretary Abid Malik in which 33 out of 38 members were present.

RISJA secretary presented annual report before the general council and paid rich tribute to members for staying united and working for the noble cause of promoting sports.

RISJA chairman Mohi Shah informed the house about RISJA activities and seek their suggestion whether to conduct fresh elections or they would support the panel designate with the consent of senior members. Mohsin Ijaz of 92 Channel presented a resolution paying glowing tributes to outgoing RISJA body while Shakir Abbasi, Ayaz Akbar Yousafzai, Abdul Qadir, M Shafique, Abdul Ghaffar, Zeeshan Qayyum and others supported the resolution. Ijaz and others demanded of RISJA president Mohsin to continue and the house unanimously backed the resolution. Faheem Anwar Khan put Mohi Shah’s name forward for lifetime chairman slot. The house also gave approval to the suggestion and Mohi Shah was asked to continue performing his responsibilities as chairman.

Upon this, Mohi Shah presented names of the founders panel nominees. Mohsin Ali (The Nation) was proposed as president, Ayaz Akbar Yousafzai (GEO TV )as senior vice president, Mohsin Ijaz (Channel 92), Zahid Khawaja (NNI) and Arif Mehmood (Akhbare Khyber) as vice president, Shakir Abbasi (Naibaat/NEO TV) secretary, Nasir Abbas Naqvi (Ausaf) finance secretary, Rana Tanveer (APP) and Raja Sohail (Daily Pakistan) as joint secretaries. Faheem Anwar Khan (Nawa-I-Waqt) was nominated as chairman executive committee with Shahryar Khan (Express TV), Afzal Javed (Jehane Pakistan), Gabriel de Souza (The News), Abdul Jabbar Faisal (Daily Times), Abid Malik (Duniya TV), M Shafique Raja (APP), Zeeshan Qayyum (PTV), Nauman Maqsood (Channel 24), Wafa Abbas (Sach TV), Abdul Qadir (ARY), Shah Khalid (ABB TAK TV) and Rizwan Ahmed (Jaag TV) were nominated as executive body members. The house gave approval to entire panel. Mohsin Ali thanked entire house for reposing confidence and promised to take onboard all.

He was full of praise for senior journalists Malik Shakeel Awan Daily Jang and Zahid Farooq Malik, Metro Watch for their unconditional support throughout the year and also announced opening of fresh RISJA membership.

General Council also assigned new body to conduct meetings with fellow sports journalists, who had reservations in the past.