The Election Commission of Pakistan on Sunday made operational the Results Transmission System (RTS) and Result Management System (RMS) for by-election 2018.

Returning officers will use the RMS system to send results to the ECP from 7,186 polling stations that are linked to the RTS system. 

The process to transmit results will begin at 5pm, when polling concludes. A team of the National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) is present in the ECP's headquarters in Islamabad to ensure smooth functioning of the RTS and RMS systems. 

The voting for the by-election on 35 national and provincial assemblies commenced at 8AM, with more than 300 candidates, including some political bigwigs, in the running.

Over five million registered voters — about 2.3 million women and almost 2.7 million men — will exercise their right to vote. It is noteworthy that the overseas Pakistanis will be voting for the first time in the by-polls.

Seats up for grabs comprise 11 from National Assembly, 11 from Punjab Assembly, nine from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and two each from Sindh and Balochistan.