ISLAMABAD - While showing solidarity with the rain affected people of Sindh, members of the Senate not only extended donations but also called upon the philanthropists and well-off community to generously help those who have been rendered homeless due to the recent unprecedented rains and floods in Sindh province. The committee meeting which was presided over by Acting Chairman Senate Mir Jan Muhammad Khan Jamali, and later by Moulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidri, Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, chalked out a viable plan of action to provide relief to the people in the calamity-hit areas. The committee underlined the need for expediting the relief activities. Special committees were also constituted for fund raising, procurement and distribution of relief goods to flood affectees. The senators stressed that coordinated efforts were required in the relief and rehabilitation activities as the magnitude of destruction was much beyond calculation. They also appealed to the international community to help mitigate the sufferings of the people rendered homeless by heart-wrenching floods. It was observed that food items, medicines, potable water and tents etc. were urgently required. A number of senators also donated a decent amount to the Senate emergency relief fund. They were of the view that the federal govt must play an active role to provide relief to the people. We need to forge unity in our ranks and show enthusiasm to help our brothers who are in deep trouble at the moment, the members said. It is pertinent to mention here that the procurement and distribution committees will comprise senators from each and every party. Senators Seemi Siddiqui and Sardar Ali Khan will head the procurement and distribution committee respectively. Senator Haji Ghulam Ali will coordinate with the Chambers of Commerce of all the four Provinces for fund raising. Senator Gul Muhammad Lot will assist both the procurement and distribution committees. The meeting was attended by Senators Muhammad Kazim Khan, Syed Sajid Hussain Zaidi, Sardar Ali Khan, Seemi Siddiqui, Farah Aqil, Surraya Amirudin, Gul Muhammad Lot, Tahir Hussain Mashhadi, Muhammad Ishaq Dar, Jahangir Badar, Dr. Abdul Khaliq Pirzada, Ilyas Bilour, Haji Ghulam Ali, Rehmatullah Kakar, Sardar Muhammad Jamal Khan Laghari, Gulshan Saeed, S.M Zafar, Humayun Khan Mandokhail, Ismail Buledi, Abdul Ghafar Qureshi, Raja Muhammad Zafarul Haq, Ghufran Khan, Saeeda Iqbal, Tariq Azeem Khan, Wali Muhammad Badini, Zafar Ali Shah, Najma Hameed, Babar Khan Ghori and Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri. Secretary Senate Raja Muhammad Amin and Senior Officers of the Senate were also present on the occasion.