ISLAMABAD - APP football team clinched the NBP Inter-media Football Tournament 2013 title after defeating Samaa TV 3-1 on plenty kicks in the final here at Jinnah Stadium, Pakistan Sports Complex late Thursday night under floodlights. The National Press Club (NPC) in collaboration with the NBP, Right To Play and Pakistan Sports Board (PSB) organised the event in which 18 teams participated. Journalists XI bagged the third position after thrashing Geo TV 6-0 in the third position play offs. In the final, both APP and Samaa TV tried their best to score a goal to clinch the title but at the end of the both halves, both the teams failed to score a single goal even 10 extra minutes were also wasted by both the sides. Then three plenty kicks were awarded to them. APP managed to score on all of them while Samaa just managed to score once, which helped APP win the title 3-1.

IOA president Brig (R) Arif Mahmud Siddiqui was chief guest on the occasion while NPC president Farooq Faisal Khan, former presidents Afzal Butt, Tariq Chaudhry, MD APP Khalid Sarwar, DDG PSB Agha Amjad Ullah, IFA president Dr Fazal Ul Rehman, NPC secretary Shahryar Khan, finance secretary Afzal Javed, tournament organising committee chairman Mohsin Ali, tournament chief commissioner Rana Tanveer, member Zulfiqar Baig along with other dignitaries were also present there. Samar Abbas of Dawn TV and Rehmatuddin of ATV got special awards for scoring hat-tricks during the event.

Speaking on the occasion, the IOA president lauded the efforts of the NPC for holding the healthy activity for journalists’ community and assured full support of the IOA in such activities in future too. He announced a cash of Rs 50,000 for NPC sports committee.