ISLAMABAD - The Executive Committee of the National Economic Council (ECNEC) on Friday approved 10 developmental projects amounting Rs 51.791 billion.

The ECNEC, which was chaired by Finance Minister Finance Minister Senator Ishaq Dar, has approved 10 projects amounting to Rs.51.791 billion. The meeting approved three projects including 40MW Dowarian Hydro Power Project, 35MW Nogdar Hydro power Project and Hassan Abdal-Havelian-Mansehra expressway project was withdrawn.

The ECNEC, which had earlier constituted a committee under the chairmanship of Minister for Planning and Development Ahsan Iqbal to review Kachi Canal Project, was informed that the committee had decided to visit the site to ascertain the progress/activity tomorrow. The field visit report would be submitted to ECNEC accordingly.

Three projects located in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa amounting to Rs.7.160 billion, one project amounting to Rs.2. 094 billion located in Sindh, one project amounting to Rs.4. 795 billion located in Balochistan, two projects amounting to Rs.10.116 billion in Punjab and three Federal Projects amounting to Rs.27.684 billion were approved by ECNEC in its meeting.

The project titled reconstruction of Nawabshah-Sanghar Road (61) KM was approved by ECNEC with the condition that if the project would not attract funds from donors/ agencies the entire cost would be borne by the Government of Sindh. The project envisages reconstruction of existing 61 KM road along with reconstruction improvement of existing culverts and bridges to improve the existing road width ranging 6-7.3m to 7.3m with 2.5m wide treaded shoulders on both sides.

The project Construction/ Up-gradation of Dirgi Shabozai (N-70) to Taunsa Sharif was approved on the condition that Balochistan Government would allocate Rs.250 million in its current budget for 2013-14 while the Federal Government would include its share in the budget 2014-15. The project had been lingering for the past four years and would reduce distance between Punjab and Balochistan by 90 kilometers.

The project titled Remedial Measures to Control Waterlogging due to Muzaffargarh & T.P. Link canals was approved in principle and the Punjab Government was asked to arrange funding from donors. This project would reclaim 33800 areas of land out of the command area of 967000 acres.

The project for upgradation of Security Infrastructure/Equipment at major ports was approved and would be completed through funding provided by Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) in aid.

The ECNEC also approved two projects of Railways one for procurement of 50 Diesel Electric Locomotives and the other pertaining to Rehabilitation of 30 Diesel Electric Locomotives.

ECNEC directed that Railways should follow PPRA rules, ensure transparency and observe all codal formalities in their projects.

The ECNEC approved the following projects: Rehabilitation of 27 Nos.HGMU-30 Diesel Electric Locomotives (Revised), Procurement of 50 (25.Nos3,000 H.P & 25 Nos.2,000 H.P) Diesel Electric Locomotives - Revised, Kohistan Area Development Project (Revised), Construction of Bridge Over River at Mal Fatyana District Toba Tek Singh (Revised), Reconstruction of Nawabshah-Sanghar Road (61km), Construction/ Upgradation of Dirgi Shabozai (N-70) to Taunsa Sharif (N-55) Road (175km), Upgradation of Security Infrastructure/ Equipment at major airports in Pakistan, Remedial Measures to Control Waterlogging due to Muzaffargarh & T.P. Link Canals, Upgradation and Remodeling of Ring Road (Southern Section) Pesfhawar - Revised and Lining of Irrigation Channels in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa - Phase-I (Revised).

The meeting was attended by Murtaza Jatoi, Minister for Industries and Production, Ms. Anusha Rehman Ahmed Khan, Minister of State for Information Technology and Telecommunications, representatives of Planning and Development of Government of Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan, Abdul Rahim Ziaratwal, MPA Balochistan, Representative of Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Minister of Finance, Government of Punjab, Syed Murad Ali Shah, Advisor to Chief Minister Sindh and senior officials of federal and provincial governments.