ISLAMABAD - RISJA XI outclassed PSB XI by six wickets in an exhibition Twenty20 cricket match played under lights at Jinnah Stadium on late Thursday night to mark Independence Day. Rawalpindi Islamabad Sports journalists Association (RISJA) skipper Mohsin Ali won the toss and opted to field first. Pakistan Sports Board (PSB)-XI scored 125-6 in 20 overs. M Ashraf hammered four fours and two sixes in his 30-run knock while M Usman added 18 and Vijay Kumar 14. Shakeel Awan, Afzal Javed, Ayaz Akbar, Zahid Farooq Malik and Syed Sammer Abbas got one wicket each.

RISJA achieved the target in 13.3 overs losing just four wickets. Mohsin Ali led his team from the front as slammed quickfire 36 hitting four boundaries and three towering sixes while Shah Khaild hit unbeaten 20, Mohsin Ijaz 17, Afzal Javed 15 and Ayaz Akbar 12 runs. Agha Amjed, Habib Shah, Vijay Kumar and Malik Imtiaz Hussain took one wicket each for PSB.

National Assembly director Chaudhry Sharafat Ali graced the occasion as chief guest, while PDSA chairman Sheikh Abdul Waheed, secretary Nasir Mehmood Chaudhry, RISJA chairman Abdul Mohi Shah, families of RISJA members and PSB and a sizable crowd was also present on the occasion.

Speaking at the occasion, Ch Sharafat said: “It was a great effort both by PSB and RISJA to mark such a significant day in a befitting manner. The PSB is doing wonderful job of conducting events on special occasions and helping athletes and federations in best possible manner.”

PDSA chairman Waheed announced Rs 1000 for each six being hit by PSB player and Rs 500 for each six hit by RISJA players, while a special Rs 5000 was also announced for PSB DDG Agha Amjedullah by PDSA secretary Nasir Ch for his outstanding contributions and tireless efforts.

Later, the chief guest awarded RISJA skipper Mohsin Ali winning trophy as well as player of the match award.