LAHORE -  Contrary to media reports that three disgruntled PPP MPAs have submitted their resignations in the Assembly Secretariat, the lawmakers from Khanewal have denied having resigned from their Assembly membership while confirming departure from their parent party.

“We have not resigned from Assembly membership as yet, but it is true that we are not happy with the PPP leadership. We would take a decision about our political future in the days to come”, Nishat Daha, one of the three estranged legislators told TheNation on telephone.

Earlier, there were reports that Nishat Ahmad Daha, Pir Jamil Shah and Rana Babar Hussain had submitted their resignations in the Assembly secretariat on Friday.

“We are three and will take a collective decision about our political future at appropriate time”, Daha further told this scribe. He hinted at joining the PML-N in the near future while confirming that they were not in contact with the PTI at the moment. He declined to take further queries, saying he would talk to the media on Monday.   

When contacted, Secretary Punjab Assembly Maqsood Malik officially confirmed that no resignation was received in Speakers office on Friday. “I have also clarified the factual position to different news channels but they still keep on airing the news about Parliamentarians’ resignations”, he stressed.

Informed sources, however, did not rule out the possibility of their joining the PML-N in the days to come. “Infact, the three legislators have submitted their resignations with Special Secretary to the Chief Minister Punjab, Syed Tauqeer Shah to assure their loyalty to the House of Raiwind”, said the sources.

It may be recalled here that at least five PPP members of the Punjab Assembly including the three in question had ditched their party at the time of Senate elections in March this year. Other lawmakers in this respect included Shah Jahan Bhatti from Nankana, Dr Akhtar Malik and Malik Abbas Raan from Multan.

These defections at that time had cost the PPP a Senate seat as its candidate Aslam Gill could not make it to the Upper House.

The resultant situation, however, paved the way for the victory of Mohsin Leghari, a PML-N supported candidate but actually belonging to the PML-Q. 

A PPP legislator from Multan, Malik Abbas Raan told TheNation on Friday that he alongwith his five to six sitting Punjab Assembly members would be contesting the coming elections from PTI’s platform.  “But we are not going to resign from our Assembly membership”, he said, adding, that they would change the party after the Punjab Assembly completes its tenure. 

It may be mention here that Malik Raan had announced to form forward bloc of PPP in Punjab Assembly in the first quarter of 2012. He had then claimed having support of 15 PPP lawmakers from South Punjab, but later deferred his plan, perhaps for the fear of the defection clause in the Constitution.

Meanwhile, two PPP legislators from Sargodha, Sardar Munawar Ghous and Sardar Kamil Gujjar are also stated to be in touch with the PML-N leadership. They are having problems with the seat adjustment formula between the PPP and the PML-Q. Their provincial constituencies fall within NA-67 from where Anwar Ali Cheema, a PML-Q candidate, would be contesting the coming elections. The two had opposed him in 2008 elections, and now they fear that being a political rival, Cheema might attempt to spoil their vote bank in the coming polls. There are also reports that another PPP MPA from Multan, Ahmed Hassan Daher is also thinking of quitting the party.