ISLAMABAD - Chief Justice, Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, who is also the Chairman of Judicial Commission of Pakistan, on Friday nominated Justice Rahmat Hussain Jafferi, former judge Supreme Court of Pakistan, as member of the Judicial Commission of Pakistan.

Justice Rahmat Hussain Jafferi has been nominated under Article 175A(2)(iii) of the Constitution for a period of two years w.e.f. 10.12.2012 in place of Justice Ch Ijaz Ahmed, whose tenure as member ended on 3.11.2012.

The said nomination has been made in consultation with the four members of the Commission — Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani, Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk, Justice Jawwad S Khawaja and Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali. The notification in this regard has been issued on 10.12.2012.

Further, the nomination of Kamran Murtaza, ASC made by the Balochistan Bar Council as member of the Commission under Article 175A(5)(iv) of the Constitution for a period of two years in place of Muhammad Kamran Mulakhail whose tenure expired on 3.11.2012, has also been notified by the Commission.