LAHORE – Nine more candidates filed their nomination papers for the Senate seats on Tuesday, the last date for submitting the nominations. The PPPP contenders who submitted the papers for general seats from Punjab include Zaheerud Din, Baber Awan, Aitzaz Ahsan and Chaudhary Aslam Gill.

Mohsin Leghari of PML-Q also filed his nomination papers on a general seat, while Muhammad Sarfraz submitted the papers as an independent candidate on a general seat. Yasmin Akhtar of PPPP and Anusha Rehman of PML-N filed their papers on the seats reserved for women in Punjab. Mrs Najma Ahmed submitted her nomination as an independent. Aitzaz Ahsan filed his nomination papers on a technocrat seat. It may be noted here that Ishaq Dar of the PML-N submitted his papers both on a general as well as a technocrat seat.