ISLAMABAD    -   The All Parties Hurriyat Conference-Azad Jammu and Kashmir (APHC-AJK) chapter has held a confer­ence in Islamabad to pay tributes to the July 13, 1931 Kashmi­ri martyrs, on their martyrdom anniversary.

As many as 22 Kashmiris were martyred, one after the oth­er, outside the Central Jail in Srinagar on July 13, 1931, by the troops of Dogra Maharaja during the court proceedings against one Abdul Qadeer who had asked the Kashmiri people to defy the Dogra rule.

Addressing the conference, the speakers termed July 13, 1931, as an important milestone. They said the sacrifices be­ing rendered by the Kashmiri people are the continuation of the mission of the martyrs of July 13, 1931. The participants of the conference reaffirmed the Kashmiris’ resolve to render all kinds of sacrifices for the Kashmir cause and take the ongoing freedom movement to its logical conclusion.

Condemning the continued human rights violations by In­dian forces and draconian laws enforced by New Delhi in the occupied territory, the speakers appealed to the international community to play its role in halting these rights abuses. They said India is using extrajudicial killings, arrests, torture and other brutal tactics to suppress the freedom movement of the Kashmiri people but it will never succeed in its nefarious de­signs as Kashmiris cannot be suppressed by killing, harassing and other oppressive tactics.

The speakers said that resolution of the lingering Kashmir dispute is imperative for ensuring permanent peace in the re­gion and urged the world community to help in settling it in accordance with the aspirations of the Kashmiri people.

At the end of the conference, special prayers were offered for the souls of Kashmiri martyrs.

The conference was attended by former president of Azad Jammu and Kashmir Sardar Yaqoob Khan, Ghulam Nabi Now­sheri, Syed Faiz Naqshbandi, Mehmood Ahmed Saghar, Syed Yousuf Naseem, Abdul Majeed Mir, Saleem Haroon, Abdul Majeed Malik, Mir Tahir Masood, Nisar Mirza, Raja Khadim Hussain, Sheikh Abdul Mateen, Nazeer Karnai, Sultan Butt, Adeel Mushtaq Wani, Javaid Iqbal, Zahid Andrabi, Zahid Safi, Showkat Butt, Manzoor-ul-Haq Butt, Mushtaq Butt, Abdul Hameed Lone, Daud Khan Yousufzai and Imtiaz Wani.