VEHARI-PML-N MNA Tahir Iqbal Chaudhry has claimed the support of 13 of 24 councillors of Municipal Committee Vehari for his nominated candidate of chairman slot Sheikh Muhammad Hussain.

Ten candidates from MPA Mian Saqib Khurshid group were elected as councillors, 8 from MNA Tahir Iqbal Chaudhry group and six from Tehmina Daultana group in TMA Vehari. However, three councillors from Tehmina group namely Ghulam Murtaza Dogar, Jam Tahir sithar, Majeed Bhullar and two from Khurshid group namely Ammar Chaudhry and Hakim Saeed have defected their respective groups to the MNA’s group. The turncoats have announced their support to Sheikh Hussain for the post.

The MNA has succeeded in getting support of 13 councillors for chairman election while more councillors are expected to join his bandwagon. MNA Tahir had contested general elections 2013 as independent candidate and then joined the PML-N after defeating PML-N candidate Tehmina Daultana.

The MNA said that his mission was to secure the future of the people who face lots of difficulties due to negligence of other politicians. The PML-N leadership should think about their decisions regarding nomination of party candidate for the slot. “We will not make compromise on the people’ aspirations,” he said.

PML-N leader Fakhar Iqbal Chaudhry said, “We always fight for the people of Vehari. The PML-N high-ups should make decision as per the people’s aspirations.”

According to the sources, PML-N leader Hamza Shehbaz Sharif invited the MNAs and MPAs to Lahore after the change in political situation. At the meeting, the councillors said that they were not elected as independent candidate and on the PML-N ticket, and said that they would support the candidate of the MNA group.

Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif is expected to visit Vehari due to political crisis to address the local leaders’ grievances.