SAHIWAL-Police arrested 29 activists including district and tehsil office-bearers of Tehreek-e-Labaik Ya Rasoolallah in a crackdown launched under 30 MPO (Detention) during last 24 hours.

The office-bearers who were arrested during the crackdown included Tehreek district president Qari Asghar, In-charge Ghaziabad Qari Haroon Rasheed and district secretary Maulana Sharif. The workers who had been detained for a month included Hafeez, Faiz, Ali Ahmed, Nazakat, Farooq, Asghar, Azim, Saeed Ajmal, Hamid Irfan, Hamid Raza, Abdul Raouf, Ahmed Din, Ahmed, Waqas, Arshad Ali, Ajmal, Naveed, Hafiz Shakeel, Rang Ali, Haris, Ghulam Farid, Haider Ali, Imran, Nauman, Mudassar and Ali Ahmed.

All these activists were blamed to create unrest and disturb law and order in the city by blocking Lahore - Multan Motorway from different points. According to police sources, all the arrested activists have been sent to Central Prison. Earlier, the Tehreek activists had staged series of protests at different locations across the district against the government's alleged attempt to amend Khatme Nubuwwat clause. They had demanded action against the culprits who dare amend the clause concerning Finality of the Prophethood. They had blocked roads near Fato Morr, Pakpattan Chowk, Yaousufwala Adda and View Hotel. The protests had gone violent and the police arrested 29 activists.