LAHORE - The two-day Chief Minister Punjab Inter-Zonal Athletics Championship formally started here at the Punjab Stadium on Tuesday. The Sports Board Punjab-organised championship was inaugurated by chairperson Chief Minister Punjab Task Force for promotion of Sports in Punjab, Veinna Usman and gave prizes to the winners of the opening day finals. Shams-ul-Haq of Faisalabad was declared the winner in discuss throw after Faisal Hassan was disqualified due to his affiliation with a department. Faisal threw the discuss at a distance of 41.61 while Shams who was given the gold medal after protest against Faisal managed to cover the distance of 41.53 metres. He was followed by Atif Aqeel of Punjab at second place while Mohammad Zubair of Rawalpindi was third. So far no action other than disqualification was taken against Faisal or its team manager for playing a department player in the competition when it was clear that the event is for zonal athletes. In the high jump final, Aamer Rafiq of Lahore won the gold medal for 1.76 meter jump. Ahmed Junaid of Rawalpindi was second while Mohammad Awais of Faisalabad was third. Mohammad Hussain of Sargodha won the 800 metres gold medal with a time of 1.58 minutes. Ghulam Mustafa of Multan was the second placed athlete while Naseer Haider was third. He is from Rawalpindi. Faisalabad athlete sajid Hussain won the 100 metre gold medal. He was the fastest athlete with a timing of 10.88 seconds. Lahore's Hafiz Safdar was second and Adeel Akhtar of Multan was third. Munawar Husasin of Faisalabad won the 5000 metres final and the gold medal with a time of 16:14.12 seconds. Ahmed Hussain of Multan and Lahore's Khyzer Hayat  were second and third. The athletes of Multan including Adeel, Tahir, Qasim and Mustafa won the 4x100 metres relay race with a time of 3:31.26. They were followed by Dare Ghazi Khan's Mohammad Asghar, Basit, Abbas and Shoaib while Lahore's Nasir Iqbal, Zahid, Adnan and Matin were third. Lahore's Khalil with a throw of 59.07 metres won the javelin throw gold medal while Faisalabad's Mohsin Zia and Bahawalpur's Zafar Iqbal were secnod and third respectively. Faisalabad with 37 points was leading the opening day of the comoetitions while Lahore with32 points was second, Multan (31) third, Rawalpindi (17) fourth, Gujranwala (13), Sargodha (9), Bahawalpur (8) and DG Khan (6). On the second and final day shot put, long jump, 110 m hurdles, 200 m, 400 m, 200 m, 1500 m, 4 x 400 M. relay final will be held followed by the prize distribution ceremony.