It was decided on Monday that the ‘Naya Pakistan Housing Scheme’ will also be introduced in further 10 cities from Punjab, according to the federal government.

The ‘Naya Pakistan Housing Programme’ is a scheme introduced by the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, in which the government will build five million low-cost and affordable housing units across the country. The recently included cities are Lahore, Kasur, Sialkot, Jhelum, Bahawalpur, Layyah, Multan, Vehari, Rahim Yar Khan and Gujranwala.

The PM, at the launch of the scheme, announced that the government would provide the land, facilitate and remove bottlenecks. The scheme would be under a public-private partnership and all houses that are constructed would contain all basic amenities.

The first phase the project will start in seven cities, which include Islamabad, Sukkar, Gilgit, Muzaffarabad, Quetta, Swat and Faisalabad. Federal Housing Taskforce and the government of Punjab have completed the initial preparations for the project. The scheme’s pilot project in Faisalabad is currently underway.