LAHORE – The PTI on Monday finally announced its candidates for Lahore, a city considered a citadel of PTI’s main challenger in Punjab. In a major decision, the PTI central parliamentary board also denied tickets to City chapter president Aleem Khan and his close associates.

There has been strong resentment among party ranks against Aleem Khan and his clique who are believed to be a pack of land grabbers. The decision of throwing them out of party candidacy was reportedly taken on the instructions from party chief Imran Khan.

Imran had reportedly become increasingly uneasy with Aleem’s shadowy activities against the party interests and his bids to convert the Lahore chapter of the party into one of his ‘business concerns’. Aleem’s aides who were also stuck off the final list included Mansha Sandhu, Nazeer Chohan, Faraz Chaudhary, Mian Javed Ali, Irshad Dogar, Sardar Kamil Umer, Farrukh Javed Moon, Abdul Rasheed Bhatti and Jameel Asghar Bhatti.

Rasheed Bhatti and Jameel Bhatti left the party after receiving the information that they won’t get the PTI tickets. Aleem, who earlier threatened to leave the party if his camp members were denied tickets, was conveyed that he was free to go at any time and the party leadership won’t allow pressure tactics. But Aleem reportedly preferred to stay, at least for the time being, instead of becoming an irrelevant entity like the bunch of defunct PML-Q (Likeminded).

The board also left NA-129 open after cutting out Mansha Sandhu and an appropriate candidate capable of defeating PML-N Punjab president in this constituency is likely to be decided by tomorrow. The PTI parliamentary board also shifted three probable candidates of the national assembly to Punjab Assembly seats, besides reshuffling 11 provincial assembly candidates from Lahore.

PTI’s national assembly finalists for Lahore are: Hamid Zaman (NA-118), Mohammad Madni (NA-119), Yasmeen Rasheed (NA-120), Barrister Hamid Azhar (NA 121), Imran Khan (NA-122), Atif Chaudhary (NA-123), Waleed Iqbal (NA-124), Hamid Khan (NA-125), Shafqat Mahmood (NA-126), Nasrullah Moghal (NA-127), Haji Kramat Khokhar (NA-128) and Talib Sindhu (NA-130).

The Punjab Assembly candidates for 25 Lahore constituencies are: Yasir Gilani (PP-137), Mian Mehmood Ahmed (PP-138), Mazhar Iqbal Bhalli Butt (PP-139), Zubair Niazi (PP-140), Nawaz Natt (PP-141), Malik Waqar Ahmed (PP-142), Muhammad Arshad Khan (PP-143), Mian Hamid Meraj (PP-144), Tariq Hamid (PP-145), Jamshed Iqbal Cheema (PP-146), Shoaib Siddiqui (PP-147), Ejaz Ahmed Chaudhry (PP-148), Mian Akram Usman (PP-149), Mehar Wajid Azeem (PP-150), Mian Mehmoodur Rasheed (PP-151), Dr Murad Ras (PP-152), Shabbir Sial (PP-153), Asif Raza Baig (PP-154), Hafiz Farhat Abbas (PP-155), Ahsan Rasheed (PP-156), Hamid Sarwar (PP-157), Tahir Majeed Mayo (PP-158), All Imtiaz Wraich (PP-159), Malik Zaheer Abbas Khokhar (PP-160) and Khalid Mehmood Gujjar (PP-161).

As for the 11 reshuffles, Ch Asghar Gujjar was replaced by Mazhar Iqbal in PP-139, Atif Ch by Irshad in PP-143, Yamin Tipo by Hamid Miraj in PP-144, Mian Iftikhar by Tariq Hameed in PP-145, Aleem Khan by Shaoib Saddiqui in PP-147, Sheikh Imtiaz by Mehar Wajid in PP-150 and Haji Fayyaz by Mehmoodur Rasheed in PP-151.

In four PP constituencies there was no nomination in earlier list but now Asif Raza Baig was given ticket in PP-154, Shabbir Sayal in PP-153, Khalid Mehmood Gujjar in PP-161 and Malik Zaheer Abbas Khokhar in PP-160.