LAHORE - The 42nd convocation of College of Physicians & Surgeons Pakistan is taking place today (Saturday) at Aiwan-e-Iqbla. Chief Minister Punjab Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif will inaugurate the convocation. The President CPSP Prof Dr Zafar Ullah Ch said this while addressing a press conference held in the College premises here on Friday. CPSP Regional Director, Prof Dr Khalid Masud Gondal was also present on the occasion. Prof Dr Zafar Ullah Ch said that the College of Physicians & Surgeons Pakistan is a unique medical training institution in the country, which was established in 1962. He said that it is the only institution of the country, which is conducting fellowship examinations in 54 different specialties. The college was established on the pattern of the Royal College of Britain's, the rules and Regulations regarding examinations and professional training are framed in accordance with the curricula of the most modern countries like Britain, Canada, Ireland and Australia. But the curriculum and training courses were arranged keeping in view of the national and local requirements and the college was organised as a wholly autonomous institution. The president CPSP said that the elected council of the fellows is fully responsible for all the administrative and other matters and its council is elected for four years and it elects its office bearers every year. The Royal College of Britain and Ireland are also following the same rule for the last five centuries. He said that February last year, fellows of the country elected its new 20 members council out of which eleven members are from Punjab, six from Sindh, two from NWFP and one from Baluchistan. It pertinent to mention here that the council unanimously elected Prof Zafar Ullah Chaudhry as the President, Prof Abdullah Jan Jaffar as Senior Vice President, Prof Muhammad Daud Khan as Vice President and Prof Atta ur Rehman as Treasures of the College. The office bearers were elected on successful completion of one year of the council. In response to the capabilities rendered by Prof Zafar Ullah Chaudhry, the council elected him as the president. Prof Zafar said that the College has thirteen regional centres and a headquarter in Pakistan. It also has its centres in Nepal and Saudi Arabia as well. The present council not only moved these centres but also started expansion projects in Quetta, Hyderabad, Peshawar and Lahore. The foundation of Abbotabad centre has also been laid. In all the four centres, all departments are fully working like headquarters. Like Nepal, other SAARC countries have made their submission for recognition of their institutions by the college. The college has its own merit of recognition of institutions and supervisors. The institutions matching with the requirements of the college are recognised. To a query he said that since its establishment in 1962, the college has made progress in every field of medical training, expansion of medical facilities and to achieve the international set standards. The college is known as one of the best postgraduate medical training institutions and carries a high reputation in the world, It has stronger relations with its sister institutions of America, Canada, Australia & Saudi Arabia. On this occasion Prof Masud said that the present council under the dynamic leadership of Prof Zafar not only raised the prestige of the college but also made all attempts to solve the problems of the fellows and the trainee graduates. Restoration of FOPS-I, reduction in registration fee, removal of hurdles in delay in approval of synopsis and dissertation, keeping the regional centres moving, recognition of the proven-quality institutions and supervisors are some remarkable steps worth mentioning here. He said that at present, 10,000 doctors appear in FOPS-I and 15,000 doctors collectively appear in the college examinations. In addition, there are 10,000 doctors who are under training at different stages. With the untiring and continuous efforts of the present council, a Trauma Course of International level (ATLS) has been started in collaboration with American College of Surgeons. Pakistan stands first to attain this landmark among the SAARC countries.