Liaquat Ali Khan (14 August 1947-16 October 1951)

Governor-General Muhammad Ali Jinnah appointed and invited the then finance minister Liaquat Ali Khan to set and run his administration in 1947. He was assassinated in 1951, and Khawaja Nazimuddin took the office.

Sir Khawaja Nazimuddin (17 October 1951-17 April 1953)

Nazimuddin became Prime Minister of Pakistan after the assassination of Liaquat Ali Khan in 1951. He left the office when governor general Malik Ghulam Muhammad dissolved his government in 1953.

Mohammad Ali Bogra (17 April 1953-12 August 1955)

A diplomat and relatively unknown personality to Pakistani politics, Bogra established the Ministry of Talents but his administration was dismissed in 1955 by the Governor-General after the legislative elections in 1954.

Chaudhry Mohammad Ali (12 August 1955-12 September 1956)

A first appointment from the coalition of Muslim League, Awami League and the Republican Party, he was removed by his own party following the successful vote of no-confidence movement.

Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy (12 September 1956-17 October 1957)

Popular for his wit in law, Suhrwardy resigned due to the loss of control over his party and support from the coalition partners in his administration.

Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar (17 October 1957-16 December 1957)

Shortest tenured Prime Minister, Chundrigar established his administration but was removed within mere 55 days into his term amid a vote of no-confidence movement led by majority votes of the Republican Party and Awami League.

Sir Feroze Khan Noon (16 December 1957-7 October 1958)

A lawyer, Sir Feroze Khan’s administration collapsed after his party’s own President Iskander Mirza enforced martial law in 1958 in a view of extending his term of office.

Nurul Amin (7 December 1971-20 December 1971)

After the general elections in 1971, Amin was invited to be appointed as Prime Minister under Yahya’s administration; yet he was also the first and the only Vice President of Pakistan from 1970 to 1972, leading Pakistan in the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971.

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (14 August 1973-5 July 1977)

Bhutto resigned as president to become the empowered as the Prime Minister after the Constitution was re-promulgated, which established a parliamentary system of government. He was deposed in the martial law in 1977 by his appointed army chief, General Zia, in July 1977.

Muhammad Khan Junejo (24 March 1985-29 May 1988)

Junejo was elected as the tenth Prime Minister of Pakistan in non-party based elections in 1985, therefore he was elected on an Independent ticket but he served the Pakistan Muslim League while before entering in office and during office. He was dismissed by the president after the Eighth Amendment to the Constitution.

Benazir Bhutto (2 December 1988-6 August 1990)

Bhutto became the first woman in Pakistan to head a major political party, in 1982. Six years later, she became the first woman elected to lead a Muslim state.

Nawaz Sharif (6 November 1990    18 July 1993)

Sharif was elected as the 12th Prime Minister of Pakistan on 1 November 1990. President Ghulam Ishaq Khan dissolved his government in April 1993, which was later on reinstated by the Supreme Court of Pakistan. Sharif survived a serious constitutional crisis when President Khan attempted to dismiss him under article 58-2b, in April 1993, but he successfully challenged the decision in the Supreme Court. Sharif resigned from the post negotiating a settlement that resulted in the removal of President as well, in July 1993.

Benazir Bhutto (19 October 1993-5 November 1996)

Bhutto was re-elected for a second term, in 1993. She survived an attempted coup in 1995. Bhutto’s government was dismissed by president Farooq Leghari in November 1996.

Nawaz Sharif (17 February 1997-12 October 1999)

Sharif was re-elected as Prime Minister with an exclusive mandate from all over Pakistan for a non-consecutive second term, in February 1997. His government was deposed by General Pervez Musharraf in October 1999, and martial law was imposed in the entire country.

Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali (23 November 2002-26 June 2004)

Jamali was elected as the Prime Minister of Pakistan in November 2002. He continued the foreign and economic policies of Pervez Musharraf but could not complete his term and resigned from the post in June 2004.

Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain (30 June 2004-26 August 2004)

The Parliament elected Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain as the Prime Minister and to serve a 50-day period before the Shaukat Aziz, permanently replaces him.

Shaukat Aziz (28 August 2004-15 November 2007)

Aziz took the office of Prime Minister in August 2004. He left the office at the end of the parliamentary term, in November 2007, and became the first Prime Minister of Pakistan who left the seat after completion of parliamentary term.

Yousaf Raza Gillani (25 March 2008-19 June 2012)

Gillani was elected as prime minister in March 2008. He was disqualified from his seat in the parliament in April 2012 by the Supreme Court for contempt of court.

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf (22 June 2012-24 March 2013)

Ashraf assumed the post of Prime Minister in June 2012, after Yousaf Raza Gillani was disqualified over contempt of court charges.

Nawaz Sharif (5 June 2013-28 July 2017)

On 5 June 2013, Sharif took office for a third non-consecutive term. He took oath under Asif Ali Zardari, the then-president of Pakistan. He was disqualified on 28 July 2017 by the Supreme Court from holding public office as he had been dishonest in not disclosing his employment in the Dubai-based Capital FZE company in his nomination papers.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi (1 August 2017-31 May 2018)

The Parliament elected Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as the Prime Minister after the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif. His term expired as the 2018 Pakistan Election was set to be held.