Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's Mahmood Khan was elected Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister on Thursday.

PTI's Mehmood Khan defeated Mian Nisar Gul of Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal as he secured 77 votes, Mian Nisar Gul received 33 votes.

From 2007 to 2012, he had been Nazim Union Council Khariri of Tehsil Matta. He is a prominent politician from Swat who was elected as MPA on PK-8 in 2013. He held portfolios of sports, culture, and irrigation in the cabinet of Pervez Khattak.

He has also been KP irrigation and interior minister but for a very brief period of time. In general election 2018, he bagged 25,697 votes from PK 8. He is the President of PTI Malakand Division.

Mehmood Khan's name was put forward by Khattak for the post.