LAHORE - Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Shaharyar M Khan has approved the 16-member Pakistan women’s squad, along with four standbys, for a series consisting of ODI and T20Is against the Sri Lankan women’s team on the recommendation of women’s selection committee.

Led by skipper Sana Mir, Pakistan women’s team plays three ODIs and as many T20Is at Sharjah, UAE against Sri Lanka from January 7-18, 2015. It may be noted that the three ODIs are part of the qualification process for the ICC ODI Championship, which in turn is also the qualification process for the next ICC Women’s World Cup, to be held in 2018 in England. To prepare for the six-match series, a national women’s training camp is scheduled from Dec 25, 2014 to Jan 7, 2015 at South End Club, Karachi.

PCB Chief Operating Officer (COO) Subhan Ahmad said: “Pakistan women’s team in recent years has made a steady progress, and it is reflected in its ever-improving ICC players and team rankings. I am sure good cricket will be on display in the six-match limited-overs rubber with Sri Lanka, and it will entertain audiences at the Sharjah Stadium so familiar to the large Pakistani expatriate community in the UAE.

WOMEN’S SQUAD: Sana Mir, Syeda Nain Fatima Abidi, Bismah Maroof, Nida Rashid, Javeria Wadood, Sania Iqbal, Marina Iqbal, Sidra Nawaz, Asmavia Iqbal Khokhar, Qanita Jalil, Sumaiya Siddiqui, Sadia Yousaf, Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Bibi, Iram Javed, Naila Nazir.

RESERVES: Aliya Riaz, Anum Amin, Sidra Amin, Rabiya Shah.

TEAM MANAGEMENT: Ayesha Ashhar (manager), Mauhtashim Rasheed (coach), Ibrar Ahmad (trainer) and Rifat Asghar Gill (physiotherapist).