MULTAN -  The ruling PML-N’s drive for chairman district council faced a severe blow on Thursday as a local court rejected nomination papers of its candidate for this office.

The rejection of the Chairman candidate’s papers also led to the automatic rejection of papers of his panel, comprising four candidates for the offices of vice chairman. Muhammad Abbas Bokhari was contesting election for the DC’s Chairman office on the PML-N ticket while the four Vice Chairman candidates of his panel included: Malik Zafar Ali Dogar, Wajid Ali Shah, Rana Shahzad Noon and Sarfraz Khore.

The petition for the disqualification of PML-N candidate was filed by PTI’s candidate for the DC’s Chairman slot, Umar Farooq and vice chairman candidates from his panel.

The petitioners stated that Muhammad Abbas Bokhari was elected Chairman UC-180 but he resigned from his office to contest NA-153 by-election. His resignation was approved and he got 277 votes on the electoral sign of bucket. The petitioner further stated that Muhammad Abbas Bokhari was not member of district council due to his resignation while membership of the council as Chairman or Vice Chairman is necessary for contesting election to the office of Chairman District Council. Thus his nomination papers may be rejected.

After hearing the arguments by the lawyers for both the parties, the Multan District and Sessions judge issued orders, rejecting nomination papers of Muhammad Abbas Bokhari.

The final list of the candidates will be displayed on Friday (today) and they will be allotted electoral signs on the same day. The polling will take place on December 22.