LAHORE - Four new ministers have been inducted in the Punjab Cabinet. Punjab Governor Rafique Rajwana administered oath to the new ministers namely Saeed Ullah Babur, Sardar Tanvir Ilyas, Mian Nauman Kabir and Ch. Faisal Mushtaq.

Caretaker Punjab Chief Minister Dr Hasan Askari among others also attended the oath-taking ceremony held at the Governor’s House, yesterday.

The Chief Minister congratulated the new ministers and said that caretaker set up in the Punjab is totally apolitical and neutral. Holding of free and fair elections is our responsibility, he added. We shall hold elections while remaining impartial in toto and this responsibility will be fulfilled as a national obligation.

Earlier, Dr Askari met with the governor and discussed different matters for ensuring free and fair elections. 

Separately presiding over the second meeting of the caretaker cabinet at Chief Minister’s Office, the Chief Minister congratulated the new entrants into the cabinet and said that full attention should be given to the holding of transparent elections. The cabinet ministers are empowered about taking decisions of their respective departments. The provincial cabinet shall speak through its independent and judicious decisions, he maintained. I shall always be available to the members of the cabinet and decisions will be taken with mutual consultations. The collectivism and individuality will be visible through our acts and deeds. Every party will be provided opportunities on equal basis in the elections, he added.

Dr. Askari said that arrangements will be made keeping in view the relevant rules and regulations for performing government matters and good results will be proved through professional approach. He said the need of minimum facilities in schools for holding the elections will be fulfilled. The responsibilities of line departments will be increased when elections will be nearer and everyone will have to make sincere efforts to achieve the goals, he added.

The provincial ministers reposed their trust over the leadership of Dr. Hasan Askari and vowed that mandate of public service and timely elections will be fulfilled. Professionalism and the culture of merit will be promoted in public sector departments. The ministers also discussed about the programs of public service during the meeting.

Earlier, new ministers Ch. Faisal Mushtaq, Mian Noman Kabir, Sardar Tanvir Ilyas Khan and Saeed Ullah Babar were introduced to the meeting.