In the mandated term of the national assembly starting from March 17, 2008 till its culmination on March 16, 2013 the assembly passed some 125 bills – around 90 of these introduced by the government 180 by the opposition parties and independents as private members bills. Some 98 ordinances were also laid before the national assembly over this period including those passed on to the parliament from the previous government. Moreover, it passed around 81 acts and brought some major amendments to the constitution including the famous 18th Constitutional Amendment, which had removed all the anomalies and distortions introduced in the constitution by the successive dictatorial regimes in the country.