Pakistan will start their campaign in WorldT20 as third ranked team with 121 rating points according to the ICC T20I Team Rankings Table, which is updated until the March 14 T20I between South Africa and Australia.

Pakistan will start their campaign against India in the in inaugural match of the Super-10 stage on March 21, who are second on the table with 123 rating points. Sri Lanka are still holding the top slot on the Ranking Table. Sri Lanka, runner-up in 2009 and 2012, are atop the table with 129 ratings points, leading number-two ranked and 2007 champion India by six ratings points. In fact, eight ratings points separate the top three sides with 2009 winner Pakistan in third position with 121 ratings points. Sri Lanka launch their campaign March 22 against South Africa in the Super 10 stage of the tournament at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong.

Meanwhile, defending champion West Indies will start off in sixth place with 110 ratings points. West Indies slipped to sixth despite winning the three-match series against England 2-1, while 2010 champion England will enter in eighth position. West Indies will launch their title defence against India on March 23 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur. South Africa are fourth while Australia are in fifth position.

The tournament opener features host Bangladesh taking on Afghanistan in a Group A match in the first round at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur. Both Bangladesh and Afghanistan are level on 70 ratings points, but when the ratings are calculated beyond the decimal point, Mushfiqur Rahim’s side is ranked ahead in 10th place. The tournament carries a total prize money of US$ three million, with the winning side taking home US$1.1 million and the runner-up collecting US$550,000.

Meanwhile, Pakistan lag far behind in the batting department as compared to other competing teams as their top-ranked batsman is captain Mohammad Hafeez who stood on 17th spot while Umar Akmal is next on 21st place. Australia batsman Aaron Finch has moved up two places to claim the number-one position in the latest ICC Player Rankings for T20I batsmen, released on Saturday after his side won the second T20Is of the three-match series to go 2-0 up against South Africa. Finch has leapfrogged New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum (now second) and England’s Alex Hales in third. Hales himself scored 81 runs in three-match series against West Indies.

However in bowling department Pakistan have three spinners in the table with Saeed Ajmal on third place, Hafeez on 6th and Shahid Afrid on 10th. Interestingly, nine in Top 10 ODI bowlers are spinners and the list is headed by two from the defending champions West Indies with off-spinner Sunil Narine holding the coveted number-one position while Samuel Badree on second with just one point behind from Narine.

Sri Lanka’s Nuwan Kulasekara is the lone fast bowler featuring in the Top 10 at ninth position. Hafeez leads the All-rounders ranking while Afridi is on fifth spot.


Rat    Name    Team

747    SP Narine    WI

746    S Badree    WI

714    Saeed Ajmal    PAK

673    B Mendis    SL

671    N McCullum    NZ

670    M Hafeez    PAK

662    Shakib Al Hasan    BAN

659    P Utseya    ZIM

656    N Kulasekara    SL

646    Shahid Afridi    PAK

Top 10 All Rounders

Rat    Name    Team

427    M Hafeez    PAK

365    S Watson    AUS

362    Yuvraj Singh    IND

359    Shakib Al Hasan    BAN

315    Shahid Afridi    PAK

299    M.N. Samuels    WI

261    M Swart    NED

256    A Mathews    SL

240    DJ. Bravo    WI

218    C Gayle    WI

T20 Team Rankings

Rank    Team    Rating

    1    Sri Lanka    129

    2    India    123

    3    Pakistan    121

    4    South Africa    118

    5    Australia    115

    6    West Indies    112

    7    New Zealand    108

    8    England    104

    9    Ireland    91

    10    angladesh    70

    11    Afghanistan    70

    12    Netherlands    56

    13    Scotland    50

    14    Zimbabwe    46

    15    Kenya    42

    16    Canada    2


Rat    Name    Team

797    A Finch    Aus

793    B McCullum    NZ

782    A Hales    ENG

749    V Kohli    IND

711    S Raina    IND

702    Yuvraj Singh    IND

694    M Guptill    NZ

685    D Warner    AUS

675    S Watson    AUS

671    H Masakadza    ZIM