LAHORE - Rain lashed parts of the country including Lahore on Sunday, disturbing routine life by causing urban flooding, power shutdowns and massive traffic jams.

Scattered rain-thundershowers occurred in Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Gujranwala, Sargodha, Lahore, Sahiwal, DG Khan, Multan, Bahawalpur, Faisalabad, DI Khan, Malakand, Hazara, Peshawar, Kohat, Quetta and Zhob division.

In Lahore, strong winds and rains in the evening caused considerable decrease in the mercury level, bringing chill back in weather. Strong winds continued to blow during the day that followed by heavy rains in the evening.

The rains added to the woes of motorists and pedestrians by causing inundation of rainwater on portions of roads and roadsides. Massive traffic jams were witnessed at major roads due to inundation of rainwater. Several incidents of skidding of motorcycles were also reported from various parts of the City.

Maximum and minimum temperature in Lahore was recorded 24 degree Celsius and 14c respectively. Relative humidity in the evening was recorded 63 per cent.

According to the experts, western disturbance is affecting upper and central parts of the country and likely to persist during next 24 hours. The Meteorological Department has forecast cloudy weather with chances of rains for Lahore during the next 24 hours.

Widespread rain-thundershower has been forecast for Kashmir, Islamabad, Punjab (Rawalpindi, Gujranwala, Sahiwal, Lahore divisions), Hazara division and at scattered places in Malakand, Peshawar, Kohat, Mardan, Bannu, DI Khan, Sargodha, Faisalabad, Multan, Bahawalpur, Quetta, Zhob divisions and Gilgit-Baltistan.

Isolated heavy falls/hailstorm is also expected in Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Gujranwala, Lahore divisions and Kashmir.

On Sunday, DG Khan received 64mm rain, Multan 54mm, Sahiwal 33mm, Islamabad 32mm, Bhakkar 31mm, Rawalpindi 29mm, Mangla and Rawalakot 27mm each, Bahawalpur and Bahawalnagar 26mm each, Toba Tek Singh 25mm, Okara 22mm, Noorpur Thal and Jhang 21mm each, Kotli 18mm, Murree 16mm, Mandi Bahauddin, Gujrat, Garhi Dupatta and Malamjabba 13mm each, Abbotabad 12mm, Sargodha 11mm, Balakot10 mm, DI Khan and Parachinar 09mm each, Jhelum and Rohri 07mm each, Gujranwala 06mm, Rahim Yar Khan and Faisalabad 05mm each.