Rejecting the decision of Election Commission of Pakistan about re-polling on 43 polling station of NA-250, MQM continues sit-in outside the ECP Sindh office on Wednesday.

A large number of party workers were present outside the ECP office with the demand to conduct re-polling in entire constituency instead of some polling stations.  They chanted slogans against the irregularities of ECP and demanded the ECP to conduct election on all the 180 polling stations of NA-250 and its two Provincial Assembly’s constituencies PS-112 and 113. 

Addressing the participants of sit-in on late Tuesday night, MQM Chief Altaf Hussain said that they would not allow anyone to snatch the party’s mandate. He said that MQM would not be responsible if anybody acted against the discriminatory attitude of media.

Agencies add: Criticising the Election Commission of Pakistan’s decision to hold election in 43 polling stations for the National Assembly constituency NA-250, Karachi, Muttahida Qaumi Movement Chief Altaf Hussain has demanded fresh polls in the entire constituency.

Addressing a sit-in organised by the party outside the provincial Election Commission office, he said, “We have the right to defend ourselves, we will protest if anybody tries to deprive us of our mandate.”

He said the people had gathered outside the EC office within one hour of MQM’s call. Altaf Hussain said that upright people should be inducted in the Election Commission and the people of entire NA-250 constituency whether rich or poor should be given right to vote.

He said conducting re-polling in certain areas was discriminatory and the MQM rejected it. He also condemned use of force against the MQM and said that even women would put up resistance. The MQM chief applauded the party workers and said that he had eliminated difference between the rich and the poor.

A large number of MQM workers gathered outside the Election Commission office and staged a sit-in to protest against its decision to hold voting at a few polling stations of NA-250 after Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s protest.