The PML-N won three National Assembly and six Punjab Assembly seats here in the general elections.

The people of Chiniot perhaps responded to the PML-N for it upgraded tehsil Chiniot to district status in 2009 as it was their 34 years old demand. Two NA and four PA seats were swept by the PML-N candidates.

In NA-86 which comprises Chiniot city and its adjoining villages, Qaisar Ahmad Shiekh won the election defeating PPP’s Syed Zulfiqar Shah and PIT’s Syed Anayat Ali Shah. In NA-87 which comprises Lalian tehsil and some parts of tehsil Jhang, Mehr Ghulam Muhammad Lali defeated veteran politician Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat to was contesting as an independent candidate and PPP’s Syed Abid Imam, son of Syeda Abida Hussain.

In PP-73, Maulana Ilyas Chinioti won the seat by defeating Qazi Hassan Ali of PTI and Syed Kaleem Ameer of PPP. In PP-74, Maulana Rehmatullah won the election by defeating Syed Hassan Murtaza of PPP and Syed Afzal Shah of PTI. In PP-75, Mehr Imtiaz Lali of PML-N won the seat by defeating Hina Makhdoom of PTI and Malik Ghulam Abbas Nissuana, an independent candidate. In PP-76, Mehr Saqlain Anwar won the election against Mukhtar Jappah of PPP.

Likewise, the Pakistan Muslim League-N won NA-100 as well as PP-101 and PP-102 seats. In the constituency, there are 288,271 registered voters out of which 169,070 are male and 119,201 female voters. However, the number of votes cast is 184,883 thus the turnout was 64.14%. Azhar Qayyum Nahra won NA-100 by 19,563.

The PML-N got 89,722 votes and the runner-up was Rana Bila Ejaz, an independent candidate, who secured 70,159 votes. The PPP candidate was at number three with 6,829 votes. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Ch Abid Javed got 6,475 votes and Jamaat-e-Islami candidate Sardar Riaz Ahmed remained at fifth position with 2,125 votes.

In PP-101, PML-N candidate Riaz Bibi, widow of Amanat Ali Virk, won the seat by getting 24,413 votes and runners-up was Khalid Pervaiz Virk who was an independent candidate securing 21,177 votes.

PML-N candidate won PP-102 seat with 30,407 votes and the runner-up was independent candidate Irfan Bahir Gujjar who secured 23,072 votes and at third position, was independent candidate Tanveer Azam Cheema with 12,356 votes.

In Rajanpur, The PML-N won two National Assembly and three Provincial Assembly seats while one Independent candidate was declared winner here in Rajanpur district.

According to unofficial result announced by the Election Commission of Pakistan, Jafer Khan Leghari of PML-N from NA-174 won the seat while Dr Hafizur Rahman PML-N candidate from NA-175 was declared winner.

Similarly, former Chief Minister Shahabz Sharif PML-N candidate from PP 247 won the seat while Sher Ali Gorchani of PML-N was declared winner and from PP-249 Nasrullah Khan Dareshak an independent candidate won and Atif Khan Mazir PML-N candidate for PP-250 was declared the winner.

In Ahmedpur East, PML-N candidate Syed Ali Hassan Gillani was declared winner from NA-183 Bahawalpur 1 (Ahmedpur East) by getting 62,839 votes in May 11 election.

According to unofficial results, the BNAP candidate Samiul Hassan Gillani remained runner-up with 47,362 votes, PPP candidate Arif Aziz Sheikh got 25,365 votes while Independent candidate Sahibzada Mohammad Gazain Abbasi secured 16730 votes from the constituency.