The PML-N has won most of the reserved seats in the Local Government elections held across Punjab here on Tuesday, as per unofficial results.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) won 11 out of 17 seats and Pakistan People’s Party won 1 seat while five independent candidates became victorious in Layyah.

Out of the 11 special seats of women, the PML-N won 7 seats. The N winners include Anwari Majeed, Parveen Akhtar, Asia Parveen, Ghulam Sughra, Sughran Bibi, Zafreen Bano and Ghazala Jabeen while the PPP seat was won by Shagufta Kanjal. The three independent candidates are Saira Raheel, Irshad Bibi and Nadia Parveen.

On technocrat seat, independent candidate Malik Arshad Sehar Advocate and on farmer seat Niaz Shah became victorious while minority seats were won by Lemonel Naveed, Shahzad Gull and Ghulam Samdanithind.

Polling started from 9 am to 5 pm in all the 48 union councils; the chairmen cast their votes for special seats. Election took place in peaceful environment. The supporters of wining candidates celebrated their victory and distributed sweats.

In the Bahawalpur Municipal Corporation elections, all the 11 reserved seats were won by PML-N while in the District Council elections, the PML-N won 16 out of 23 seats while 6 seats were grabbed by independent candidates.

The polling was held in District Council Hall and Govt Sadiq Dain High School Bahawalpur amidst tight security.

As many as 21 chairmen of urban area cast their votes for 11 reserved seats of Municipal Corporation while 87 chairmen of rural areas voted for 23 seats of District Council Bahawalpur.

On Ahmedpur East, PML-N candidate Mehar Mushtaq Ahmed has been elected as member District Council on reserved seat for technocrats. He got 50 votes while his rival from PML-Q Sheikh Waqas Akram obtained 37 votes. PML-N MNA Ali Hassan Gillani and local leader Yahya Khan Kulachi greeted Mehar Mushatq Ahmed on his victory.

In Sialkot, the polling remained peaceful, transparent and impartial for the elections of five reserved seats of female members of Municipal Corporation. As six female candidates were contesting for these five reserved seats. The chairmen of all the 24 urban union councils of Sialkot city cast their votes during this election. The PML-N candidates on all the reserved seats of labour, youth councillors, technocrat and non-Muslims had already been elected unopposed on these seats.

The polling was also held for the elections of the members of District Council Sialkot on 15 reserved seats for female members, three seats for the Kissan councilors, one seat of youth councilor, five seats of the non-Muslim members.

PML-N President Sialkot District Idrees Ahmed Bajwa was already elected as member of District Council Sialkot on reserved seat of technocrat with 124 members of District Council casting their votes for these elections.

In Narowal, 28 candidates were contesting for the 15 reserved seats for the women councillors in District Council. Twelve candidates were in the race for the three reserved seats of the Kissan members, three for one reserved seat of youth councillor and 12 candidates were contesting for the five reserved seats of the non-Muslim candidate. All the 98 members cast their votes in these LB polls.

In Sargodha, PML-N candidates have won all 11 specified seats in election. According to unofficial results, PML-N MPA Dr. Nadia Aziz Group has won six while MNA Hamid Hameed Group won five seats. The winning candidates are Atif Khan, Muhammad Yamin, Javed Papa, Saeed Niazi, Rao Sarmad Talal, Dr Maira Yasmin, Khalida Parveen, Samina Ghulam Muhammad, Shahnaz Ashraf and Nasreen Ashraf.

In Burewala, PML-N candidate Pir Ghulam Mohiuddin Chishti has been elected on the technocrat seat of district council Vehari.

Chishti has been elected by securing 67 votes out of total 104 votes while his opponent candidate Rizwan Khan Daha got 33 votes while two votes were rejected. He was nominated for the District Council chairmanship by the PML-N but MNA Tahir Iqbal group had opposed him and fielded an independent candidate against their party candidate. He was supported by all the leading party factions in the district and now his election for the chairmanship is on the cards.

In Kasur, the PML-N won the second phase of local bodies’ elections by clinching 17 out of 25 reserved seats of the District Council here on Tuesday.

According to the Punjab Election Commission, the LB polls were conducted to 25 reserved seats out of which 15 seats were of women, five seats of minorities, three seats of farmers and single seat each was for youth and technocrat.

In Hafizabad, the election to the reserved seats of the District Council was held here in a peaceful and transparent manner. The PML-N bagged 11 out of 16 seats while PTI won five seats.

In Sheikhupura, the election to 25 special seats including 15 women seats completed aimed tight security on Tuesday. The total 99 chairmen of the district union councils including 11 of PTI cast votes in the favour of their candidates. Two rival parties - PML-N and PTI were in the race for the reserved seats. Prior to the elections, the PML-N had divided into two groups - one group was led by federal minister Rana Tanveer Hussain and the other by MNA Sardar Irfan Dogar group. Rana group consists of his younger brother MNA Rana afzal Hussain, MNA Bilal Virk and MPAs - Hassan Riaz, Khurram Ijaz Chattha, Pir Ashraf Rasool and Arif Sandhila while Dogar group comprising Federal Minister Barjees Tahir, MNA Mian Javed Latif, and MPAs - Faizan Khalid, Asghar Manda and Sajjad Haider Gujjar. Of the total 25 reserved seats of the district council, both the PML-N groups bagged 12 seats each while the PTI could win only one seat. The election of the district council chairman would be held on November 19.

In Toba Tek Singh, out of 24 reserve seats of the district council, MNA Asadur Rehman group won 14 seats while the other group headed by MNA Junaid Anwaar got seven seats. The remaining three winners belonged to PTI. Out of the total 85 UCs, one UC chairman seat fell vacant with the resignation of Pir Ali Baba after he was elected as MPA in by-election to PP-89. Out of remaining 84 UC chairmen, one could not produce his CNIC and failed to cost his vote.

MULTAN: Ex-provincial minister Abdul Waheed Aarain, ex-MNA Tariq Rasheed and others make sign of victory during polling for reserved seats in the second phase of LB elections.–INP