LAHORE - Lahore district has won the Chief Minister Punjab Inter-Zonal Athletics Championship that concluded here at the Punjab Stadium on Wednesday. Lahore athletes secured 79 points to clinch the overall trophy while Multan with 65 points was second and Faisalabad was third with 61 points. Provincial sports minister Dr Tanveerul Islam, who was the chief guest of the closing ceremony gave away the prizes to the winners. Besides the medals, gold medal winners were given Rs 5000, silver (Rs 3000 and bronze (Rs 2000). On the second and final day, Mohammad Hussain of Sargodha was declared the best athlete of the championship and pocketed Rs 5000. Secretary Sports Munawwar Abbas, managing director sports board Khawar Shah and several other officials were also present on the occasion. Final day results: Shot putt: Shafqat Ali of Multan 13.19 metres. Mohsin Zia (Faisalabad), Ali Mahtab (Faisalabad). Long jump: Mohammad Imran (Gujranwala) 6.37 mertes, Nauman Shahzad (Lahore), Mohammad Afzal (Lahore). 110 metres hurdles: Shafqat Ali (Rawalpindi 15:46 seconds, Akhtar Abbas (Multan, Jaffar Ali (Multan). 400 metres: Mohammad Hussain (Sarodha) 51:49, Ghulam Mustafa (Multan), Zahid (Lahore). 200 mertres: Rashid (Faisalabad) 22.67, Adil Akhtar (Multan), Mohsin Ali (Bahawalpur). 1500 metres: Saddam Hussain (Faisalabad) 18.10 minutes, Waqas Mansha (Sargodha), Ahmed Hussain (Multan). 4x100 metres relay: Lahore, Faisalabad and Bahawalpur.