KARACHI - The Karachi University Registrar has notified that Board of Advanced studies and Research (BASR), of KU in its meeting held recently under the chairmanship of Professor Dr Muhammad Ajmal Khan, Vice Chancellor awarded 19 MPhil, 17 PhD, 3 MS and 1 MD degrees in various disciplines.

PhD Degrees were awarded to Barkat Ali in Sindhi, Abida Begum in  Political Science, Ahmed Raza ul Mustafa in Economics, Asif Naveed in Usool-Ud-Din, Dr Syed Saud Hasan (MBBS) in Pharmacology, Anum Gul in Molecular Medicine, Sobia Naz Shaukat in Microbiology, Zobi Fatima in European Studies, Iffat Azeem in Chemistry HEJ, Beenish Mirza in Biochemistry, Itrat Fatima in Chemistry, Shaista Zeb in Botany, Abdul Razzaq Shahzad Sialvi in Women Studies, Kashif Rizwan in Computer Science, Syed Naseem Hussain Shah in Physics, Samra Sarfraz Khan in General History and Shazia Naz in Pharmaceutics.

Meanwhile MPhil degrees were awarded to Rida E Maria Qazi in Molecular Medicine, Khair Bux, Marium Ishtiaq, Wardah Mazhar, Muhammad Khurram Tufail, Mahwish Siddiqui, Urooj Gul, Ina, Nizakat Ali, Syed Arif Khalid, Majid Khan, Fiza Arshad and Rabia Sadiq in Chemistry HEJ, Humaira Quratulain in Clinical Psychology, Huda Kanwal in Marine Biology, Abdul Hafeez in Pharmaceutics, Tahira Naz Anwer in Microbiology while Sehar Saba and Muhammad Kashif in Applied Economics.

Master of Surgery (MS) degrees were awarded to Dr Abid Shafi and Dr Ranjeet Kumar in Orthopaedic while Dr Muhammad Qaiser Aziz Khan in Cardiac Surgery. Doctor of Medicine (MD) degree was awarded to Dr Mustaghfir Alam in Nephrology.