WASHINGTON - Pakistan’s ambassador to the United States Sherry Rehman, a Smith College alumna, has been selected to receive a coveted medal from her respected alma mater for her ‘extraordinary achievements and outstanding service’. The college, located in Northampton, Massachusetts, is one of the largest liberal arts schools for women in the country.

Ambassador Rehman, who graduated in 1985, is among five distinguished professionals chosen for the award for the year 2013. Established in 1962 to recognise women who exemplify in their lives and work ‘the true purpose’ of a liberal arts education, the honour will be conferred at Rally Day on Thursday, February 21, 2013.

Announcing the award, the Smith College hailed Sherry Rehman as a ‘fierce defender of women’s rights’. The citation also acknowledges her commitment to freedom of the Press in Pakistan. It says Ambassador Sherry Rehman drove into the world of Pakistani politics – first by writing about key social and political issues and later, by entering politics.

 “After graduating from Smith, Rehman returned to her country to work at The Herald, Pakistan’s leading English news magazine. She became a member of the Pakistan People’s Party, was elected to Parliament in 2002 and appointed Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting in 2008.” The Smith College noted that a year later, when she disagreed with a government move, Sherry Rehman resigned. “Last year, Rehman was appointed Pakistan Ambassador to the United States, a post ‘she was born for’, according to the Washington Post.”

Ms Rehman has been recognised with honours including the Freedom Award from the Association of Television Journalists and the International Peace Award from the Human Rights Commission. She is currently chair of the Lady Dufferin Foundation Trust, a non-profit provider of healthcare to women and children.”

The other four alumnae include Gail Paster, Class of 1966, Shakespearean scholar; Kay Holekamp, Class of 1973, zoologist and field biologist; Janet McKinley, Class of 1976, global investor and philanthropist; and Anne De Groot, Class of 1978, scientist and entrepreneur.