ISLAMABAD - Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf yesterday formed a 17-member political committee under the head Shah Mahmood Qureshi to mainly deal with the matters relating to Panama leaks and coordinate with other mainstream political parties in evolving consensus on examining the revelations in the disclosures of the leaks.

The committee was notified here yesterday with the formal approval of party’s chairman Imran Khan informed a party leader. The other members of the committee included Dr Arif Alvi, Shareen Mazari. Asad Omar, Yar Mohammad Rind, Shafqat Mahmood, Imran Khan Ismael, Ray Azizullah, Chaudhry Sarwar, Dr Yasmin Rashid, Shibli Faraz, Mian Mahmoodur Rashid, Ch. Ejaz, Aleem Khan and other central party leaders.

The party would meet on regular basis to discuss the day to day political matters facing the party but right now the main focus and the primary job of the committee is to evolve strategy to expose the wrong doings of the ruling party in the light of the Panama leaks .

Meanwhile, the PTI central leader Shah Mahmood Qureshi continued his meetings with the political parties and other stakeholders to evolve consensus on formation of an apt inquiry commission which would have a proper assistance of technical people at its disposal to deal with this high-profile financial scam involving the family of sitting Prime Minister.

On the other hand the party had rejected the government’s plan to form an inquiry commission under the head of Justice(Retd) Sarmad Jalal Usmani and made it loud and clear that they would not accept a handpicked commission of the ruling PML-N and would go ahead with its agitation programme if the government had failed to meet their demand of probe of these leaks by the commission under the head of Chief Justice of Pakistan.