Justice Tassaduq Hussain on Saturday took oath as acting Chief Election Commissioner (CEC).

Chief Justice (CJ) Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry administered the oath to Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani as acting CEC.

It should be mentioned that Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had released notification for his appointment on Friday.

Oath taking ceremony was held in the Lahore registry of Supreme Court.

It is pertinent to note that former Chief Election Commissioner Fakhruddin G Ibrahim had resigned from his post just after a day announcing new president of the country.

Fakhruddin G Ibrahim had also excused for continuation of work on his post till upcoming local bodies election in the country.

Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jilani had performed duties as acting CEC earlier before the appointment of Fakhruddin G Ibrahim.