Newly elected chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Mehmood Khan took oath on Friday.

KP Governor Iqbal Zafar Jhagra administered the oath. The ceremony was held at Governor House Peshawar. 

Mehmood, a candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, was elected KP chief minister on Thursday. Mehmood Khan defeated Mian Nisar Gul of Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal as he secured 77 votes, Mian Nisar Gul received 33 votes.

From 2007 to 2012, he had been Nazim Union Council Khariri of Tehsil Matta. He is a prominent politician from Swat who was elected as MPA on PK-8 in 2013. He held portfolios of sports, culture, and irrigation in the cabinet of Pervez Khattak.

He has also been KP irrigation and interior minister but for a very brief period of time. In general election 2018, he bagged 25,697 votes from PK 8. He is the President of PTI Malakand Division.

Born in Matta Tehsil of Swat in 1972, Mehmood received his early education from Government Primary School Matta and completed his matriculation from Peshawar Public School. He did his masters in agriculture from the Agriculture University of Peshawar.