LAHORE - Justice Ijazul Ahsan of the Lahore High Court Tuesday dismissed both petitions of National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq challenging order of the election tribunal for recount of votes in NA-122 and seeking contempt proceedings against election tribunal judge Kazim Malik.

Justice Ahsan held that the petitions were non-maintainable as courts cannot interfere in elections’ maters as per orders of the Supreme Court.

As the proceedings commenced, Advocate Saeeduzaffar said that the election tribunal recorded the statements of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf Chairman Imran Khan and the statements of witnesses appeared before it to testify in favor of Mr. Khan. He said but unfortunately, the tribunal neither recorded the evidences of his client nor asked his witnesses to come and record their statements.

He apprehended that inquiry commission might announce verdict against Sadiq. As this, Justice Ahsan observed that how could he say that inquiry commission may announce verdict against Ayaz Sadiq. The judge further observed that it had never been found written in the orders of the SC or Election Tribunal that NA Speaker and his witnesses could not record their statements.  After hearing the arguments of the petitioner’s counsel, the judge dismissed both petitions of NA Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

Commission to probe bogus votes in NA-122: A local commission, tasked to inspect polling bags of NA-122, will start inquiry into bogus votes today (Wednesday) at Nadir Hall of District Coordination Officer.

The commission comprising retired sessions judge Ghulam Hussain Awan will hold inquiry while the returning officer Shahida Saeed will also be present on the occasion.  On Tuesday, Treasury Officer Akhtar handed over 416 polling bags to local commission in the presence of Returning Officer Shahida Saeed and assistant returning officer Shahzad.

On Dec 8, 2014, the election tribunal allowed the petition of PTI Chief Imran Khan and constituted a commission to probe into the alleged rigging of NA-122, the constituency from where National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq was elected in last year general elections.

The commission will also check number of polled ballot papers counted towards vote account of the contesting candidates, which do not bear stamp and signature of presiding officer or assistant presiding officer.