PESHAWAR  - The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) cabinet, on Tuesday, constituted a sub-committee to probe into the actual status of the Bannu Sugar Mills’s land, and the mills’ assets transfer to Dera Ismail Khan.

The meeting was held in Peshawar with KP Minister for Labour Anisa Zeb Tahirkheli in the chair.

Beside others, the committee also comprises KP Ministers, Imtaiz Shahid Qureshi and Sardar Ali Amin Khan Gandapur. Industries Department secretary and director also attended the meeting.

During the meeting, it was informed that the total land of Bannu Sugar Mills, equivalent to 942 kanals and 10 marlas, was acquired by Pakistan Industrial Development Corporation (PIDC) in 1963, and then it was sold to a private owner in 1984, while the industry was handed over to the current administration: Bannu Sugar Mills, (Pvt) Limited, later in 1998.

The existing management had requested the provincial government in 2013 to issue a NOC for shifting the assets and machinery of the mills to D.I .Khan from Bannu.

After thorough discussions, in several cabinet meetings, the provincial government approved shifting of the assets, but the relevant departments were directed to inquire into the actual status of the mill’s land.

Following these directives, the revenue, law and industries departments submitted their suggestions on the matter.

The committee discussed different aspects of the matter, and decided to summon the SMBR and Deputy Commissioner, Bannu, along with all the relevant record in next meeting of the committee so it could be found out that whether the land was compulsorily acquired or otherwise.

It was also emphasised to collect the relevant record from other stakeholders