Islamabad - The newly elected members of Pakistan Medical and Dental Council have elected Prof Dr Shabbir Lehri as president and Prof Dr Abid Farooqi as vice-president of PM&DC.

The regulatory body of medical education in Pakistan convened its 140th council meeting yesterday wherein 28 new members gathered for the first time and elected their president, vice-president and the executive committee.

The new council received warm welcome by all the medical fraternity and stakeholders. The meeting was held here at the PM&DC Secretariat where the elected members from all over the country participated. All the members congratulated the management committee and election committee on holding free and fair elections throughout the country in the prescribed time frame given to them.

The president of Pakistan in August last had dissolved the previous executive council due to various controversies and a new management committee was named to hold elections for a new executive council. The newly elected members of the council appreciated and congratulated the chairman election committee on holding successful, transparent and fair elections.

Talking at the occasion, the elected President PM&DC Prof Dr Shabbir Lehri said he will try his utmost to make PM&DC one of the world’s best medical regulatory authorities while adding that he will equip PM&DC with the state-of-the-art technology to promote the image of the council. He further said that he needs the trust and collaboration of all the stakeholders in medical education to continue with his responsibilities while adding that all rules and regulations will be enforced in true letter and spirit to bring about a more positive image of the council.

He added that management committee comprising Maj Gen (Retd) Azhar Kayani HI(M), Prof Dr Abid Z Farooqi, Prof Syed Nadeem Hassan Rizvi, Khashihur Rehman and Saira Najeeb has done a tremendous work by running the day to day affairs of PM&DC and building up the new council in 120 days.

Talking about the autonomous status of PM&DC, the newly elected Vice President Dr Abid Farooqi said that being a statutory regulatory authority, the PM&DC has its own rules and regulations to comply with its policy matters. He added that he would welcome ideas from any corner including the federal government regarding improvements in the council.

The council members have also elected executive committee of PM&DC comprising Dr Farukh Ijaz, Dr Taj Muhammad, Dr Aamir Hussain, Dr Feroz Jahangir, Dr Shafiqur Rehman and Dr Mussarat Hussain.

The following members elected and nominated who attended the meeting included Justice (Retd) Tariq Parvaiz, Dr Abdul Malik Baloch, Dr Sania Nishtar, Prof Dr Eice Muhammad, Prof Dr Abid Farooqi, Dr Abdul Bari Khan, Dr Amjad Saqib, Prof Dr Ibrar Ashraf, Prof Dr Nasir Ali Khan, Prof Dr Ejaz Hassan Khan, Prof Dr Shabbir Lehri, Maj Gen (Retd) Abdul Khaliq Naveed, Dr Ahmad Hussain, Dr Aamir Hussain, Dr Shafiqur Rehman, Prof Dr Mussadiq Khan, Dr Imran Naseer, Dr M Feroz Jahangir, Dr Abdul Samad Mengal, Dr Mussarat Hussain, Dr Farrukh Ijaz, Najam Ahmed Shah, Dr Assad Hafeez, Dr Lt Gen Imran Majeed, Dr Muhammad Haroon, Dr Najam Ahmad Shah, Dr Syed Abdul Rauf Shah, Dr Hafeezur Rehman, Dr Khayalur Rehman and Dr Taj Muhammad.