ISLAMABAD Public Accounts Committee (PAC) on Tuesday took notice of awarding of 22 contracts worth billions of rupees construction of highways by National Highways Authority (NHA) without inviting public tenders. The committee asked for a detailed report in this connection in next meeting of PAC. The committee met here in the Parliament House under the chairmanship of Opposition Leader in the National Assembly Ch. Nisar Ali Khan. The meeting also taken up the issue of giving lands to 22 retired army officers on lease for service areas at National Highways. The awarding of contract of NHA Rest House in Narran without observing the laid down rules and procedures was also observed in the meeting. It was also informed by the audit authorities that NHA got Rs 1 billion supplementary grant for the construction and rehabilitation of Torkham-Jalalabad road in financial year of 2007-08 and the money was not used for the project. The committee was told that direct payments were made to international donors and contractors for several development schemes by NHA in same fiscal year. Ch. Nisar also ordered constitution of working group within one month. The committee should comprise officials of Finance Ministry, Auditor General, Controller General, Accounts and Federal Statistic affairs. Do not spare the accused involved in it, he asked the IG Motorway Police. The IG Motorway told the meeting that special protocol was not being given to any important personality excluding the President, the Prime Minister, Chief Ministers and Governors due to security reasons. While appreciating the Motorway Police, Ch. Nisar said that in a short span of time the accident ratio has been controlled at Salt Range. The Chairman PAC also took notice over exempting several people and organisations from Toll Tax. He said that that land was given on lease for the construction of services stations. He said that retired army officers were also among those to whom land was given on lease and mentioned the names of Col(r) Masood, Air Marshall (R) Najeeb Akhtar, Major Tajir Anjam, Brig Imtiaz Hussain and others.