RAWALPINDI- Two Degree colleges in Rawalpindi’s Dhoke Syedan area are not working despite an expenditure of 42 million rupees in 2008.

The Project was inaugurated by the Former Chief Minister Chaudhry Pervez Elahi and Former Law Minister Muhammad Basharat Raja in 2007.

Talking to the media Syed Kausar Abbas, Program Manager, Centre for Peace and Development Initiatives, (CPDI) said that the Government of Punjab was still not able to start classes in two degree colleges of Dhoke Syedan Chowk, Rawalpindi.

He said that the project of construction of two degree colleges in Dhoke Syedan Choek was started in year 2007 by the Pakistan Muslim League (Q) government.  

He said that these two are the only colleges in the surrounding of Na-52 and Na-54. Both the National Assembly Constituencies are owned by well powered Elected Representatives by Federal Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan and Member National Assembly Malik Abrar Ahmad. He said that both the elected representatives were approached a number of times but they do not have any political will to promote the higher education in their respective constituencies.

Kausar Abbas said that thousands of young boys and girls used to travel a long distance to get the higher education since the colleges remain incomplete. He said that we have launched a number of campaigns to highlight the issue of degree colleges but still the government of Punjab is not bothering to pay any attention towards the completion of these colleges.

Director Colleges Hamayun Ashraf has committed to start the classes in the month of September 2014. He said that the Government needs to pay attention to the educational institutions which are lacking in basic facilities.

Kausar Abbas said that the Government has spent billions on the project of the Danish Schools but the educational institutions already established are still lacking of basic facilities. He urged that the government to immediately release the required funds for degree colleges and start classes in both colleges from September 2014.