LAHORE-Defying adverse weather conditions and strong opposition from rivals, Wapda won the 62nd edition of the National Men’s Cycling Championship here at the cycling velodrome on Monday.

Wapda's riders struck sterling form and exhibition of skills and also overcame scorching heat to collect 262 points to win the three-day national premier cycling event in which SSGC took the second place by getting 163 points and Army earned the third position with 101 points.

Wapda's joy was doubled when their ace riders Sabir was declared the fastest cyclist of the meet. He was also conferred with national champion trophy for his superb performance of winning one gold and creating one national record in the championship which was jointly organised by Pakistan Cycling Federation (PCF) and Wapda Sports Board (WSB). In the junior category, Abdul Basit of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa clinched the trophy, for winning one gold, one silver and one bronze.

PCF president Kokab Nadeem Warraich and secretary Syed Azhar Ali Shah welcomed the participants at the closing ceremony and termed the competition as successful as nine events of seniors and three of juniors were contested. The championship was participated by all the affiliated units of PCF including Pakistan Army, Wapda, SSGC, Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan, FATA, Islamabad and HEC. Wapda Sports Board president Aamir Ahmed was chief guest at the concluding ceremony and gave away the trophies and medals to the winners.